72 New Games Played in 2014

One of the joys of keeping records, is being able to do some review.  December is especially fun to do reviews, as it gives a good look of what has transpired so far for most of a year.

I see I have tried 72 new-to-me games in 2014.  I haven’t compared to previous years, but I suspect this is a better-than-average year.  18 of these 72 games are in my collection, while 4 games which had been in my collection were subsequently purged.  Of the 18 in my collection, just 2 of them were purchased after I tried the game on someone else’s copy.  Of the remaining 16 games, 9 of them were newly acquired, while 7 had been on the shelves awaiting attention for a fairly long time.

By the years:

  • New in 2014 – 9 games tried
  • 2013 – 23 games tried
  • 2012 – 9 games tried
  • 2011 – 4 games tried
  • 2000 – 2010 – 9 games tried
  • 1990’s – 5 games tried
  • 1980’s – 6 games tried
  • 1960’s – 2 games tried
  • The remainder were prototypes.

Roughly 1/3 of the new games I tried were played with Joe Huber.  This is remarkable, since I live nowhere close to Joe.  But we managed to get together 3 times in 2014, and he is an avid player of newly published games.

I calculate I have played 307 games in 2014.  That means 72/307 is my ratio, working out to 23% of my plays have been on new-to-me games.

Leave a Reply

