D-Day

I recently decided to buy a few games off of eBay.  One game I let slip through my hands a few years ago was D-Day.  I think D-Day is a historically interesting game.  It was released in 1961 by Charles S. Roberts/Avalon Hill.  It was the first WWII war game that featured the use of a hex grid.  Obviously this was a big step forward for the “ConSim” hobby.  Countless games took this idea forward.  The original D-Day was quickly revised.  In 1962 several rule tweaks were made to it.  In 1965 another designer heavily reworked the game again.  Lots of changes in a short amount of time.

Personally, I’ve been curious to see the original rules.  So I bought a copy off eBay, but I learned that I had missed the mark.  I ended up with a 1962 edition.  So I bought again, and now have the 1961 original edition.  it is in horrible shape.  But between it and the 1962 edition, I think I can make pretty good copy to play upon.  The various differences are fascinating to me.  I’ve begun to try to correct a number of errors on BGG.  Pointless, I suppose.  But there is so much misinformation about the early editions of this game that I am sure it causes many people to misunderstand which edition they own, or are offering for sale on eBay.

The differences are fine points.  The 1961 and 1962 editions are nearly identical.  Only once you see the reference guide included in the game do you know which one you have.  The 1965 edition is nearly identical.  the cover is very slightly changed.  The map has been slightly changed.  But the rules are heavily tweaked.  Then in 1977 the game got another edition.  This one is the easiest to spot.  The cover is still much the same, but the block of text is much smaller and cramped than before, making it easy to spot.  Nevertheless, the BGG entry has the wrong edition shown…

So my goal, is to catalog the various differences and post a guide on BGG.  I doubt that anyone will really find it useful.  But sifting through all these details is right up my alley.

Leave a Reply

