Essen 327 – Kevin 0

I’ve been checking out the info coming in from the Essen SPIEL festival that ran from Thursday thru Sunday in Germany.  It is the world’s largest convention devoted to boardgames.  I attended this huge convention back in 2004.  It is truly immense.  It is also largely in German (as it should be).  So while I was dazzled to attend once, I have not been enticed to keep attending, even turning down an opportunity to be a booth monkey one year.

Over on BGG they have done an ambitious amount of video podcasting.  They have had designers come to the BGG booth and demonstrate their new games.  While this should entice me, largely I have not taken advantage of this coverage.  I’ve watch 3 videos so far, and not completely.  I did enjoy seeing the demo of Paper Clip Railways, as this is a title I had already bought, but not yet played.  And I watched with some interest the designer’s intro to Champions 2020, a “big brother” to StreetSoccer, a game I have enjoyed for years.

What I have missed, though, are the written reports of Essen that seemed more common in the past.  I have enjoyed the reports written by Frank Schulte-Kulkmann available here:  http://www.boardgame.de/specials/messe/essen11/essen11.htm  But I have been surprised that the official BGG correspondent has not filed any updates since his Mid-Friday report.  I suppose it is bad form to complain, sorry.

I suspect there are lots of wonderful new games available at the Essen SPIEL festival.  I’m not finding much interest in them though.  I suspect I have achieved burn-out on new Euros.  My primary interest seems now to be in exploring some older Euros, specifically more of the Edition Perlhuhn back list, and dialing more into 18xx type games.

I continue to own many many Euro games, and generally like the games I own.  I will enjoy continuing to play them.  And I am not closed to trying new games that my friends place before me.  But I am now feeling that it seems less likely I will be buying all that many new games.

Leave a Reply

