Pushed around on God’s Playground

Three of us played God’s Playground tonight.  I taught the game to a couple of friends, who claim Polish ancestry.  One highlight of the session was Mark telling me about the Winged Hussars, one of which is featured on the cover art of the game.

We sat down around 7:30 with the game, and I spent roughly 30 minutes explaining the game.  We finished up shortly after 10pm, so the game does move reasonably well once you know how to play.  I picked a poor path in our game, deciding to dominate Great Poland.  This is a tough row to hoe, and I still have not figured out how to make it work.

I tried the treaty three times.  This really backfired as the treaty was broken twice!  Further, I am not so sure I like it, as taking the treaty ensures you get no victory points against that enemy.

But my biggest mistake was failing to place enough estates.  God’s Playground really comes down to getting estates.  End game points are huge, and I just did not get enough of them.

With about 4-5 plays under my belt, I am now starting to feel a bit more comfortable with the rules.  I felt like I understood what the risks were around the Hapsburgs and the Ottoman war with Austria in the final two turns.  I spent far too much energy on this facet of the game, but I suspect if I don’t worry about it as much in a future game, it may dog another player.

God’s Playground feels like it ought to be a cooperative game – but it isn’t.  I am glad.  In the future I suspect some real “gotcha” type plays may emerge as we all figure out how to twist the thrashing of enemies into advantages for our own regions.

It’s an intriguing and demanding game.  I owe Alex a debt of gratitude for introducing it to me.  Thanks Alex!

One Response to “Pushed around on God’s Playground”

  1. Alex Says:

    Your Welcome,
    There’s something special about this game.
    I really like it.
    Cheers
    Alex

Leave a Reply

