Moongha for the fourth time

I have noticed that my interest in games often peters out around the fourth play (if not before).  But games that I have believed to be good games often slip a notch around 4-5 plays.  Tonight I played Moongha Invaders for the fourth time, and I am pleased to see it has endured rather well.

In our game my dice were famously bad.  I whiffed several times failing to place a cube to a city.  In fact, I was only on the board with 4 cubes, all in a single city, after 4 turns.  So I imagined I was doing rather badly.  Chris was pounding out cubes quickly, and looked ready to close the game out far ahead of the 8th turn.  Meanwhile Gary was eating my monsters assaulting NYC.  During the fifth turn, rather than run away with my wounded Bloob, I decided to roll 1 die in attack on NYC, and lo and behold I finally placed a cube in New York.  Gary was unable to finish me off, so I sent in a tank to kill my own monster.  This actually worked, and on my following turn I sent another tank into NYC to assault Gary’s Moogre.  Right after that Rick sent the last available tank into NYC but somehow Gary’s monster survived, and escaped.  But now, with 3 tanks in NYC, my sole cube looked like a great investment.  Indeed, the game ended shortly thereafter, and my little cube paid a full 4 points.  Meanwhile, I had been sending Drakoors out into the quieter corners of the board.  Chris ended the game in turn 6, and I had sent out 3 Drakoors.  There were only two other Drakoors on the board.  When the dust settled, I lost by one point to Gary.

Considering how well Gary had rolled, and how poorly I had rolled, I was quite satisfied that I had made up as much ground as I did.  This game has wild swingy amounts of luck.  But the theme is great fun, and after four games, I can see myself playing another 4 times at least.  So despite the high price, Moongha has now achieved a decent pay back for the investment made.

Good game, and possibly going even higher in my estimation.  It’s The Creature that Ate Sheboygan meets El Grande.  Play it if you get a chance.  I think it is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

