A Recent Game Day

I went over to a friend’s house yesterday and played a few games.  I took a bag of games I thought people might enjoy, but we never opened it up.  Instead, everyone wanted to play games they knew, or alternately not play games at all, but just socialize.

So I went with the flow.  I played San Juan, Power Grid, Puerto Rico and I finished out a position in Settlers when someone had to depart.  And I had a very nice time.  So I would definitely call the assemblage gamers, but I did realize that I was a bit of an odd man out.  I really enjoy trying the newer games, and sometimes forget the joys of playing games already known to everyone involved.

I had two great matches, too.  I tied for the win in Power Grid, losing by$1 on the tie breaker.  Then again, in Puerto Rico, I lost by 1 point.  Great fun – I love closely fought matches like that.

Leave a Reply

