1846

I’m scheduled to play 1846 Friday evening.

I enjoy these 18xx games, although I am often not the winner.  I love the theme, I like the pacing, I enjoy the dilemmas presented.  You need to lay track, maintain effective trains, and run find lucrative routes.  But on top of all that, you also need to watch which stocks are worth keeping and which ones you ought to dump – keeping an eye open for the “dirty trick” where a company can be gutted and then dumped onto another player.  (I am usually the one dumped on, not the one doing the dumping.)

It’s deliciously complex – not so much from the rules – but from the ramifications of your and your opponent’s decisions.  Okay, the rules are a bit complex too.

One aspect of 1846 I like is the 2-dimensional stock market.  Stock value can improve or decrease, but it is generally not affected by the actions of the other players.  In 1830, the seminal 18xx game, there is a 3-dimensional market where the stock marker can go left/right but also up/down on the chart.  This is basically brilliant, but also drives even more “dirty tricks” into the game.  I hold 1830 in very high regard, but 1846 (and 1825) allow for a different feel to the market, taking the intensity down a notch, which suits me fine.

One Response to “1846”

  1. thegamebistro Says:

    We played. We were three, and it timed out pretty good. My opponents arrived at 6pm, and we were basically done at 10pm. As usual, Alex carried the day. I managed a second place effort, roughly $1k behind him.

    I only ran a single company, the Illinois Central, the entire game. And I felt pretty good about how I did with it. I needed to do *something* else, which is to say I was not as fully invested as the other players. Due to some fear of being handed a worthless company, I bailed on some stock ocassionally just to avoid getting hosed. But this in turn clears the decks for the other players to pay out their investments while I am in a marginal position.

    I keep pounding on these 18xx games, hoping to gain some skill.

Leave a Reply

